Italian Death Metallers SPIRITUAL DECEPTION Streaming New Track “Captatio Benevolentiae” from upcoming EP ‘The Oxymoron’ to be released on October 8th

Italian death metal quartet SPIRITUAL DECEPTION have released new single “Captatio Benevolentiae,” a track from forthcoming EP Oxymoron. Stream it, courtesy of Slam Worldwide, at

SPIRITUAL DECEPTION will release the Oxymoron EP on October 8. Pre-orders available at

Following EP releases in 2018 (self-titled) and 2019 (Etemenanki), Oxymoron showcases the band’s highest level of compositional strength and technical prowess to date. A most apt summation of the sound heard on Oxymoron is introspective death metal infused with technical riffs and obscure atmospheres.

The band released the following statement concerning the finer points of the forthcoming EP:

“Oxymoron is born as a concept about light and darkness’ dualism. It takes inspiration from myths, Talmud, and works of literature. In the heart of the EP we placed a 3-part endeavour, composed by the triptych Captatio Benevolentiae’, ‘Oxymoron,’ and ‘Damnatio Memoriae,’ as inspired by John Milton’s Paradise Lost. This mini-concept deals with the relationship between God and Lucifer, their conflict and how each character is depicted by the original author, focusing on the anti-hero concept. 

The track ‘Oxymoron’ is actually the antipodes’ meeting point: God and Lucifer, Light and Darkness, Hero and Anti-Hero.

From a musical point of view the three-part concept can be experienced as a standalone and unique song, composed as a three-part climax, with the track ‘Oxymoron’ as a joining link, both musically and conceptually.

‘Hidden in Consciousness’ is a reflection about an alternative origin of mankind, inspired by Mesopotamian mythology. 

‘Serpent’s speech’ concerns Lucifer’s thoughts about his and mankind’s condition, how they are deeply linked, one with the other, and actually being the same.”

“This is one intelligent band for the most academic members of the brutal death metal scene. A band who set out to combine two extremes of the music and came back with something unique that sets them apart from the rest of the brutal death metal I’ve heard this year. Great job.”

– Metal Rules

Track Listing:

  1. Hidden in Consciousness
  2. Captatio Benevolentiae
  3. Oxymoron
  4. Damnatio Memoriae
  5. Serpent’s Speech

Recorded, mixed and mastered by Andrea Oriani at Blue House Studio.

Orchestration by Giacomo Savina at Black Alley Studios.

Produced by Spiritual Deception.

Artwork by Luca Zanlorenzi at ZZ Logos.

T-shirts’ graphics by Andreas Christanetoff at Armaada Art.

Band photos by Francesca Mancini. Videos and graphic videos by Luca Zanlorenzi

Mirko Frontini – Vocals, Guitar
Riccardo Maccarana – Guitar
Billy Repalam – Bass
Manuel Del Giudice – Drums  

Spiritual Deception was born in June 2016 from an idea of Mirko Frontini (guitar) and Luca Zanlorenzi (vocal) after the breakup of their previous band Humans Ablaze.   In a short time Gabriele Della Stua (bass) and Manuel Del Giudice (drums) joined the band to complete the line-up.   In 2019 Gabriele parted ways with the band and Riccardo Maccarana joined the line-up as an additional guitarist.   In 2020 Billy Repalam joined the band as a new bass player and Mirko Frontini became the main vocalist of the band, while keeping playing guitar, after Luca’s departure the same year.

Leave a Reply