Death Metal trio OBVURT have released debut EP The Beginning on Brutal Mind

Quebec (CA) – Death Metal trio OBVURT have released debut EP The Beginning on Brutal Mind. Coinciding with the EP release is MetalSucks’ premiere of the playthrough video for “Scars of War.” The video demonstrates the accomplished playing of guitarist/vocalist Philippe Drouin who was forced to learn to play left-handed after an accident in 2016 left him unable to continue picking with his right. Check out the video at this location.

Purchase/Stream The Beginning:



Brutal Mind Store:


“Damn good Canadian tech-death worth raving about.”

– Metal injection

“Catchy death metal magic.”

– MetalSucks

“Definitely a great debut. Simply fantastic.” (5/5)

– Brutalism

“A very good debut of a promising young band.” (9/10)

– Metal Temple

“This truly is the beginning because Obvurt are a quality band.” (8.5/10)

– Games, Brrraaains & A Head-Banging Life

“A fantastic debut EP from Obvurt, with a backstory that makes the release all the more awe-inspiring.” (4/5)

– The Independent Voice

“Strong headbanging, pit-inducing, skillful death metal barbarity.”

– Canadian Assault

“This is stellar material.”

– Noob Heavy

“Every musician in Obvurt is extremely talented and perfect at their respected instrument. It creates a better sounding product and more organic music.” (9/10)

– Metal Exposure

“The Beginning announces a brutal base that fully exhibits massive technicality and searing rage.” (85/100)

– Acta Infernalis

“While chords here are fantastically consistent, leads are almost triumphant, in your face, happy to declare to the whole world what someone who was previously impaired can do.”

– Toxic Metal Zine

“A fine debut EP and the songwriting sense here is quite good.”

– Grizzly Butts

“The EP rolls off well in one piece and convinces with a fat production and good artwork.”

– Crossfire Metal

“Impresses with maturity and sophistication.”

– Metalopolis

Initially, OBVURT was a solo project created by Philippe Drouin. In 2016 he was victim of a car accident, which injured his right wrist and prevented him from playing the guitar. Despite undergoing multiple medical operations, Philippe was not able to get his dexterity back. Even when facing adversity, he refused to give up on himself or on the guitar skills he had been perfecting for 15 years.

In 2018, he decided to buy a left-handed guitar, despite being right handed. With the help of Michael Angelo Batio, and because he kept practicing, Phil was able to come up with his very first songs.

OBVURT was formed in 2020 in Québec. Band members are: Philippe Drouin (EX-UNBREAKABLE HATRED, EX-VITIATED), Olivier Pinard (CATTLE DECAPITATION, CRYPTOPSY) and Samuel Santiago (AGONY, EX-GOROD). Philippe was the one who came up with the name OBVURT, which relates to his particular turn of fate. OBVURT stands for Obvert (to oppose) and Hurt (to wound). In august 2020 the band recorded their first EP, The Beginning, with Christian Donaldson (CRYPTOPSY) at The Grid Productions

Track Listing:

  1. Prelude Dm
  2. Osteophyte
  3. The First Light
  4. Obverted*
  5. Scars of War
  6. The End

*Guest guitar solo by Michael Angelo Batio

Album Credits:

Produced by Christian Donaldson

Co-produced by Obvurt

Engineered by Christian Donaldson

Assistant Engineer Marco fréchette

Mastered by Christian Donaldson at The Grid, Montreal, QC

Produced at Grid Productions, Pointe- Aux-Trembles, Montréal, Canada Layout and Artwork by Jon Zig


Philippe Drouin – Guitars/Vocals

Olivier Pinard – Bass

Samuel Santiago – Drums

Leave a Reply